Blanket, Camping, Unpacking and the Best Jam Ever

Happy Thursday Readers! It’s been a while since my last post, but for good reason.

Check out this super awesome estate sale find! It matches perfectly with a side table my grandparents gave me, and it was only $5!
Check out this super awesome estate sale find! It matches perfectly with a side table my grandparents gave me, and it was only $5!

Lets start at the beginning. I signed the lease on my new apartment last Monday, something I’m really happy about. This will be the first place I’ve lived where I’m living by myself, so I’ve spent a good chunk of time looking on craiglist for tag/estate sales, perusing overstock.com and being grateful that my parents are donating some furniture to my cause. Yesterday was my third trip to target in a week, but I finally feel like I have everything that I need to get started.

I’m not done yet, there’s a ton of unpacking to do. The dresser I bought from overstock was broken (they were super good about exchanging it for a new one, but still a bummer) so my clothes can’t really be unpacked yet. I feel like I’m back at summer camp the way I’ve been living out of my Tupperware, but I’m sure I’ll look back at this and laugh. My desk stuff still needs to be unpacked, and my books. My computer and TV still need to be hooked up, but at least I have use of a laptop. There’s a lot of work in my future, but I got this.

It doesn’t really help that right after I signed my lease I went up to NH to camp for almost a week. Can you blame a girl? Beautiful lake waters and a cool summer breeze. I can’t wait to go back up again. I spent my time swimming, running and listening to the third Game of Thrones book while knitting.

After a lot of thought, I casted on this blanket so that I can curl up under it while watching movies this winter. (So hopefully it's done in time.)
After a lot of thought, I casted on this blanket so that I can curl up under it while watching movies this winter. (So hopefully it’s done in time.) I’m calling it my Valley Girl Blanket in honor of my move back to the Valley.

Speaking of that third book… I feel as if it’s important for me to note that I am all caught up on the show. So I knew that the red wedding and others traumatic events were going to happen. I knew they were coming, sure the book always provides a more powerful and vivid image, but I knew they were coming. As I was sitting there, knitting what I’ve come to call my Valley Girl Blanket, I was in a panic because I was so sure that the events were going to happen right that second. Pretty sure I listened to a solid 4 hours before the red wedding happened. Thank you to my friends who told me that I was being ridiculous and that I could make it through the deaths of some of my favorite characters, and for reminding me that the death of one of my least favorites was soon to follow.

Let’s get back to my Valley Girl Blanket for a second. I am, by no means, still a beginner knitter. Sure I’ve only been knitting for about a year and a half now, but I’ve taken on many difficult and non-begininer projects. That being said, I started the Knit Beginner Blanket by knit picks so that I would have a project that is 100% mindless. I casted on 250 stitches in worsted weight, even though the pattern only calls for 210, and have been seriously enjoying the garter stitch. It’s been perfect for people watching, enjoying conversation, distressing, enjoying what’s going on outside my window… etc. It’s awesome, I can feel the stitches and don’t have to look at the knitting at all! Of course, I’m only halfway done with the first strip. Ask me how much I love it when I reach the last one. Then again, I’m starting to be a firm believer in the idea that every knitter needs a simple project and a more complex one to bounce between. I am also the same person that swore a year ago that I would never have more than one project going on at the same time. My how times have changed.

NH evening, cool breeze and beautiful sights.
NH evening, cool breeze and beautiful sights.

As I leave you with a picture of the lake I stayed at and a current picture of my knitting (it’s a little bigger now, but it’ll give you the same idea), I want to take a moment to talk about one of the best souvenir gifts that I have ever gotten. One of my friends went to NY for a few weeks and brought me back some Amish Jam. Blueberry and Strawberry Rhubarb. I’m including this in my post because if you’re ever able you need to buy this jam. Seriously, he has ruined me and my jam preferences. I’m worried that I won’t be able to go back to store bought jam and will have to drive the 3+ hours to buy more. My dad and I spent some time plotting what we could put it on. Some of my favorites that we came up with include: cheese and crackers, cheesecake, zucchini bread, martinis… the list goes on and on.

If you can think of anything else that the jam would taste good on, a place where I could get more that isn’t so far away or is more accessible please comment below! I only have two jars and they’re going fast.

Leave a Reply

